No new striker then | Vital Football

No new striker then

Geordieracer69

Vital Squad Member
Pardew talking up Cisse in the press - he's only a few weeks away from a return to training and he's confident that he can get back in the goals.

“I think with Papiss that there’s a possibility that he could score a lot of goals in this team so I wouldn’t write him off by any stretch of the imagination. He’s about two weeks away from training so he’s not far away, something that seems to have been forgotten.

The last part of that sentance is telling and clearly aimed at those that are pointing out the obvious need for a proven striker, and probably tells them that it won't be happening.

I'm no doctor but I reckon the cure for a misfiring stiker is not a long lay off with a broken knee cap.

Getting Cisse back fit is like a new signing, can see him coming back Steve Austin style.
Amazing what this surgeons can do nowadays , it will be like having shearer back on speed

“I think with Papiss that there’s a possibility that he could score a lot of goals in this team so I wouldn’t write him off by any stretch of the imagination. He’s about two weeks away from training so he’s not far away, something that seems to have been forgotten.

Was that a quote from pardew?

"something that seems to have been forgotten."
Yes a Pardew quote which means "this is our new striker".
How he can say he will score a lot of goals after such a serious injury and an abysmal last season is beyond me. Putting pressure on him straight away.
Man management is something Pinocchio has never heard of.

what gets me is the use of "I think with Papiss that there’s a possibility that he could score a lot of goals in this team so I wouldn’t write him off by any stretch of the imagination"

if there's one scenraio you should maybe embelish the truth and try to big somebody up is when you have a low in confidence striker returning as what seems your only option for the season ahead and you're his manager.