2021 Summer Transfer Thread | Page 132 | Vital Football

2021 Summer Transfer Thread

I don't like the idea of signing a player used to central defence for fullback.

You need so much more from fullbacks in the awful, dull system everyone plays now

You are better off converting wingers to fullbacks than centre halves.

I know he's a right back by trade, but his qualities are obviously much more defensive

If we were talking wing backs I would be inclined to agree, but full backs, no.

The first job of a full back is to defend, but that does not mean they should not get forward from time to time; however, there are so many out there now who just cannot defend to save their lives.

The fact that we are looking for full backs who can defend is a good sign; the whole point of a double pivot (two deep lying midfield players) is to cover for attacking full backs, if the full backs do not attack so much there is no need for the cover.

Two full backs who can defend and two genuine box to box midfield players will change the whole dynamic of the side and is another sign of a change in track; this is pointing to 4 3 3 in my view.

If we were talking wing backs I would be inclined to agree, but full backs, no.

The first job of a full back is to defend, but that does not mean they should not get forward from time to time; however, there are so many out there now who just cannot defend to save their lives.

The fact that we are looking for full backs who can defend is a good sign; the whole point of a double pivot (two deep lying midfield players) is to cover for attacking full backs, if the full backs do not attack so much there is no need for the cover.

Two full backs who can defend and two genuine box to box midfield players will change the whole dynamic of the side and is another sign of a change in track; this is pointing to 4 3 3 in my view.