Players that proved us wrong | Vital Football

Players that proved us wrong

GillsBluenose

Vital Football Hero
I am here to gorge on humble pie regarding my reservations when we signed Kyle Dempsey,

I studied his stats and noticed that he doesn't score many goals for a midfielder.

Apart from a brief spell at Huddersfield, he had spent all his career at clubs like Carlisle and Fleetwood.

To top everything, he was a free agent and the best offer he received was from "lowest budget" Gills.

So what's the big deal?

I'll fetch me coat.:slap:

Can anyone else remember signings that made you think "what is the manager doing?" only to later admit you were SO wrong?

I've never thought "what was he doing" on signing a player, as I'll always give players a chance before dismissing them.

I'll freely admit though (and I'm sure I'm not the only one) to being amazed at how good a signing Eaves proved to be given his track record before joining us.

And I'm currently wondering exactly why Evans was so keen to turn Johnson's loan into a permanent transfer, given that he doesn't seem to want to play him for anything more than a few minutes at the end of games. Still, I trust Evans to know what he's doing in that respect.

Tom Eaves - 4 goals the previous season in League 2 and didn't do much the first few games. Only kicked into gear when he scored a number of goals against Southend which Nobby would debate...

I can't remember being more underwhelmed at a Gills signing than I was at the time.

Being honest, I briefly thought similarly about Big V when he signed, but decided to reserve judgement based solely on the Eaves experience and I'm glad I did.

A lot depends on when you make the judgement. Bob Taylor ,Tony Cascarino and Iffy as a winger never looked that impressive to start with.