Chesterfield resigned to their fate? | Vital Football

Chesterfield resigned to their fate?

Casperimp

Vital 1st Team Regular
Looks as though they are preparing for life in non league.

Interesting interview with one of the directors and very open. Interesting that he says the playing wage bill is £2.3 million. We paid similar out last year but that is all staff costs and will obviously include promotion and cup bonuses etc. Says they are targeting promotion back but then they all say that and find the reality somewhat different. History says it may be a few seasons until they can fight their way back.

https://www.chesterfield-fc.co.uk/news/2018/april/20180418-ashley-carson-interview-part-one/

I'm no expert but isn't the parachute payment more favourable now? They'll possibly face a slightly smaller challenge than we did if so but yep bouncing straight back is far from the norm.

Chesterfield will struggle in the NL - next season's Hartlepool, the battle will be to stay out of administration and the relegation places.

Looks as though they are preparing for life in non league.

Interesting interview with one of the directors and very open. Interesting that he says the playing wage bill is £2.3 million. We paid similar out last year but that is all staff costs and will obviously include promotion and cup bonuses etc. Says they are targeting promotion back but then they all say that and find the reality somewhat different. History says it may be a few seasons until they can fight their way back.

https://www.chesterfield-fc.co.uk/news/2018/april/20180418-ashley-carson-interview-part-one/
Can you watch that interview without paying an additional subscription? I find I can watch the extended highlights of other clubs matches by subscribing for a free pass but the one you have linked to seems to need a monthly pass at a cost of £4.49.