Match Thread: Sunderland v Lincoln City | Page 46 | Vital Football

Match Thread: Sunderland v Lincoln City

And it has repercussions. Getting a reputation for diving will alert refs who then may - consciously or unconsciously - have bias such that a genuine penalty may not be given in the future.
Did he get the yellow for diving or dissent ?

Be interesting to see our reaction next season If we play forest next year and he goes over in the box!

I think it’s a clever tactic he goes over nothing given but then someone else does and it’s seen as cast iron he is the pathfinder

We are in an era where 'going to ground over soft touches', 'looking for it', 'sticking a leg out', 'putting the brakes on' and 'falling down holding your head' have all been allowed to become 'part of the modern game'. All of those used to be cheating when I started playing, now they are largely unpunished and invariably lead to a free-kick or a penalty.

On our side Hopper and Morton are always looking for a defender to get too close from behind to throw themselves forward. Rogers and McGrandles have both put a foot out sideways under the defender in order to go over when running side-by-side with the ball. And Johnson has had numerous dubious contacts when running past players. That isn't to say every time one of those players goes down they are cheating (they aren't Wyke).

Johnson is so quick and agile he often does get touched and it isn't always clear to the naked eye in real time. Rogers is fouled half a dozen times every game because the opposition don't know which way he is turning and get embarrassed when he has done them and Hopper regularly gets walloped in the back.

Our team is no different from any other in the League (at least not unless we get promoted on Sunday). I don't like to see cheating and I am not going to complain or defend him if one of ours gets caught doing it.