Euro 96 | Vital Football

Euro 96

danvilla2

I’m not an expert
Euro 96 kicks off tomorrow on ITV Hub and ITV 4, those of us old enough which I’m sure is the majority then erase all memories for any spoiler alerts for the purposes of a good thread. If you are too young to remember this tournament, it’s the best in my living memory without question so get into it - puts the supposed recent World Cup “success” to shame.

Villa player in the squad by the name of Gareth Southgate, let’s hope he impresses and doesn’t embarrass himself in front on the nation.

First game England v Switzerland 6.15pm

2B2A08DF-F9C9-4AEA-B080-32F23856C3F8.jpeg

My daughter was 12 when Euro 96 kicked off, she hated football by the end of the tournament she was a football fan and still is.

Looking forward to watching the Bulgaria games, Stoichkov was a brilliant player and had an excellent tournament, pretty much his last great displays before age getting to him.

Sorry to say but looking forward to seeing Germany, had some cracking players like Klinsmann, Ziege, Moller and Sammer.

Portugal and Czech had exciting teams and you can see young Figo and Nedved, among others. Czech vs Russia was a classic game.

Big game tonight. Let’s hope we can get an early goal, get one of the strikers in the scoresheet like Shearer, then keep it tight at the back.

I was an England fan for Euro 96, loved that tournament, so many memories.

I think I watched every game, or at least every game I could, the games at Villa Park were so exciting, it looked so different covered in orange for the Dutch games.

I'm going to have to watch a load of this.

I was an England fan for Euro 96, loved that tournament, so many memories.

I think I watched every game, or at least every game I could, the games at Villa Park were so exciting, it looked so different covered in orange for the Dutch games.

I'm going to have to watch a load of this.

Only fair, we supported you lot in 94 😉