Toby Alderweireld - Player Thread | Page 8 | Vital Football

Toby Alderweireld - Player Thread

As I've been saying for 18 months; he's slowed and he can't jump anymore and his judgement for how he defends now reflects this in his poor/deeper positioning.

He was responsible or partially responsible for both their goals.

We should have let him leave; it's a very poor judgement by the club to resign him.

The problem is as much the preferential treatment that Aurier is receiving. I'm OK with him getting a little more freedom to attack than Davies, but the reality is he never gets back in shape. Jose should also switch Toby and Sanchez and let the Colombian martial the right like he was doing when he first joined. That's is the better combo when they drop into that 3 with Davies

Jose proved that he can get the best out of an older Terry but it was as much to do with the full-backs and Kante / Matic combo in front. That's not the case with Toby, who is being exposed by the system.

I am surprised Toby played after the week he had. Jose probably rested Tanga and Vert for Wednesday but I suggest he should have rested Toby.
On the goals, the first started with Davies failing twice to deal with the attack out wide. He lost the duel initially then didnt stop the cross coming in. Lloris probably should have come out, he went to, stuttered and left Toby in two minds. Toby got a foot to it but skewed it. We have seen this type of own goal many times from CBs for all clubs, it happens.
On the second goal , Toby couldn't jump because he was being climbed over by their scorer. He was pushing down on his shoulders and possibly the goal should have been chalked off for that. This was my initial opinion but I will watch it again to see the severity of the climb.