Thoughts on Steve Bruce as he returns with the Magpies | Vital Football

Thoughts on Steve Bruce as he returns with the Magpies

He's probably a great guy to have a few pints with but as a football manager I really do not like him. His style is absolutely horrible to watch and he has a nasty habit of turning on fanbases when times get tough. He tried to split the fans here and he's doing the same at Newcastle.

I also think his 'steadying of the ship' is overstated. He left us as a bottom half club and Smith worked a minor miracle to get us promoted that season.

I still like him. Always will.

We were a sinking ship. We'd tried countless managers and owners but were heading down down down, bit by bit, month by month. Lots tried and failed to restore us, but Brucie managed to turn the good ship Villa around and get us heading in the right direction again.

I don't really buy into all this Bruce-ball, Dinosaur nonsense. We were top goalscorers by a long way the one season in the Championship and I thought in general pretty exciting to watch.

Having said all that his time had probably come and we've seemingly moved on to the next level without him so it's all worked out well, but I'll always remember him fondly for turning this club around and getting us competing again.

I thought he would get us up but I wouldn't have wanted to keep him had we got promoted. He's far from the worst of the carousel managers (Allardyce, Hughes, Pardew etc) and he's a respectable man, but he's not a great tactician, his style is outdated by at least a decade, and he will never, nor is expected to by any of the clubs he manages, win anything of note.

He's such a journeyman that I could nearly forget he managed us. I don't associate him with Villa at all, and I certainly don't have any feelings of hate. I used to "hate" him a couple of decades ago because he turned Birmingham into a half decent side, but I must admit I enjoyed the rivalry at the time and considered him a solid manager.