The death penalty?

• Bring it back

Votes: 8 47.1%
  • Never

Votes: 9 52.9%

• Total voters

danvilla2

I’m not an expert
I’m sure we must have had a thread on this before, but I couldn’t find one.

I’m generally down the middle on many issues, and liberal in others. When it comes to the most serious of crimes, I am very I guess old school in that I believe criminals should face the ultimate punishment, and have their life ended.

There is an argument that “people suffer more locked up” or “they can be reformed”. Someone on several life sentences has no reason to be reformed and are taking public money away from services which can help prevent or reform other criminals.

In the most serious of cases where the criminal admits a crime, there is overwhelming evidence that the person has committed the offence and there is sufficient time for appeals, I believe we should end a criminals life via euthanasia in very exceptional circumstances. This could be one of the upsides of Brexit as I believe the EU have banned corporal punishment (but would need to fact check that).

Conversely, I would liberalise the pettier crimes initially so as not to damage someone’s potential reform, for example showing on a CV but as a one strike policy.

Case in point for euthanasia https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-merseyside-54886213

A nurse has been rearrested on suspicion of murdering eight babies and the attempted murder of another nine at the Countess of Chester Hospital.

Last edited by a moderator:
For me I would need to ask myself "could I do it?" Meaning giving the lethal injection, pulling the cord or whatever it maybe.

My answer to that is "No I couldn't" so I don't expect someone else to want too either.

Yes there is the "eye for an eye..."

Also

"Two wrongs don't make a right"

Maybe I would feel differently if it was one of my own children. I don't know.