Smart Motorways | Vital Football

Smart Motorways

danvilla2

I’m not an expert
Guess this is sort of politics related. The thought of breaking down on the motorway with my kid is genuinely one of the few things that scares me. Pressing ahead trying to impress the rest of the world with the word “Smart” which is just a fast-driver tax.

Smart motorways ARE death-traps: Police chief says we've all been 'misled' and calls for the £6BILLION project to be abandoned after 38 motorists are killed in five years

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/ar...f-says-smart-motorway-projects-suspended.html

They are totally unsafe in there present lay out imho. No way is it reasonable to have safety refuge points every 2 miles instead of every 600 metres or so as promised.

They're still building the one near me, even with all this coming out about them.

It's been a 50mph limit for 2 years. It's a real nuisance, and probably all for nothing in the end.

They are totally unsafe in there present lay out imho. No way is it reasonable to have safety refuge points every 2 miles instead of every 600 metres or so as promised.

And a bit of a lottery trying to pull out of the 'safety refuge points' as well I would think.

Having experienced many a midweek rush hour travel to VP on the M42 and M6 pre and now post introduction of Smart motorways in my opinion they work in easing of congestion and the variable speed limits keep traffic moving that would otherwise be stop/start.

However, not a single loss human life is is a price worth paying for getting people to where they need to be on time. And I fortunately haven’t had the experience like others of being stuck on the now non existent hard shoulder.

Successive governments allowing the population in our relatively small country to grow and grow with no limits has contributed to a bursting traffic and transport system. And this is the result.